Twinkling

imageOkay, so I suspect Christmas lights are probably about as hard to photograph well as fireworks are. How could I resist trying, though?

Driving around and looking at everyone’s lighting displays has been a treasured Christmas Eve tradition for as long as I can remember. I enjoyed a twist on the tradition this year: this pic is from the town square in my husband’s hometown. After a yummy dinner with his side of the family, my husband drove his parents and me around to gawk at the lights. So good!

The only problem with Christmas lights? They come down much too early! How much better would, say, the average February 2nd be if there were still twinkly lights strung about all over the place?

I also love the tacit social contract wherein all normal definitions of good taste are just pretty much chucked out the window when it comes to holiday lights. (I hate to break this to any folks sitting there thinking that their white-light lawn reindeer things are somehow exempt from the preceding statement. Erm, no. Sorry. It’s all tacky, and that’s great!) Anything goes. Maximalism?  Even better!

The lights add that bit of magic to the mundane. Plus I just love seeing whimsy on this kind of scale. Gawking at the lights will always be one of my favorite parts of the holidays. What’s your favorite holiday tradition?

Leave a Reply

