Primordial Texture

Given that winter can seem so long, I have become a bigger and bigger fan of trees with interesting barks the longer I garden. I love exfoliating barks, like that of a river birch, and I love muscular, colorful barks, like you find on a lacebark pine or a Japanese Stewartia. I also love craggley, deeply furrowed barks. Like this beauty we saw at Dawes Arboretum:

bark of a common persimmon tree (Diospyros virginiana)

Bark of a common persimmon tree (Diospyros virginiana)

Isn’t that just something? Nevermind that this native tree produces delicious sweet fruits or that the wood is very strong –I could see planting it just for that wonderful, primordial, alligator-skin bark. Doesn’t it seem like it would be completely feasible to see a dinosaur come strolling by this tree?

I love this picture that my husband took of me taking a picture of one of the persimmon trees- I love how my braid looks lined up with the bark!

Check out the picture my husband took of me taking a picture of one of the persimmon trees- I love how my braid looks lined up with the bark!

Although, come to think of it, I had some persimmon pie once and it was pretty heavenly. So not just for the bark. If only I had room in my yard! I would plant some persimmon trees. And you do need to plant ‘some’ to get fruit from these trees. Some trees bear male flowers while others have female flowers. One tree won’t have both.  So to properly pollinate and end up with fruit, you need a few of these trees. And they want to get rather tall.

Which brings me to a little wish to the lottery gods…a sizable chunk of land adjacent to Dawes Arboretum is for sale by owner. We saw the signs while driving on the motor loop. Wouldn’t it be beyond wonderful to buy that land and turn it into an arboretum west? I’d donate it to the arboretum when I died, but I’d sure enjoy planting a bunch of trees on it while I lived!

I know exactly what I'd do first if I had a winning lottery ticket...! :)

I know exactly what I’d do first if I had a winning lottery ticket…! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Primordial Texture

  1. pommepal says:

    I agree about the dinosaur, it would be able to stand among those trees and be totally invisible

  2. Lorna says:

    Oh I always wonder what I would do if I won the lottery too lol! I hope you might want to check out my personal style blog too, I’m from the countryside of England 🙂 🙂

    http://www.raindropsofsapphire.com

    • I’m convinced I’d be good at being rich, given the chance! 🙂
      Glad you stopped by, I checked out your blog and it is charming. Subscribed!

    • Pete W says:

      Came across this while designing a naturalistic tree planting for Nichols Arboretum in Ann Arbor, MI. LOVE the persimmon bark! Thanks for posting 🙂

      • I love persimmon trees, so I’m thrilled if my pic helps inspire their use in a garden (or arboretum!) in any way. I actually just did a fast post showing a different persimmon tree at Dawes that was fruiting this weekend, take a peek if you get the chance.

  3. […] tree is younger than the one I shared pictures of a few months ago (https://withthemoonontheirwings.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/primordial-texture/) -this one was planted in 1997. The bark isn’t quite as craggy looking as that on the more […]

Leave a Reply

