Reckless Blooms

Everything is blooming most recklessly; if it were voices instead of colors, there would be an unbelievable shrieking into the heart of the night.

-Rainer Maria Rilke

040Ah, the lilacs are in bloom! What a pleasure! I love their reckless beauty, I love their scent wafting in through the opened windows, I love clipping vases full of them to bring inside, I love their color and the memories they bring. As a child, my family would visit Lilacia Park in Lombard, Illinois. The joy of the sheer sensory overload of being there during the lilac festival has stayed with me ever since. Lilacs were the first flowers I fell in love with. How appropriate that lilacs, in the language of flowers, represent youthful innocence and first love.

Leave a Reply

