Plates, Plates, Plates

As I’ve mentioned, I am a bit of a hoarder when it comes to dishes/china/plates/pottery/and the like.  Perhaps because they combine beauty with functionality, I am a magpie about them.  When the price is right?  I can pretty much always justify adding to my collection. One of my favorite patterns?015

Free Form, by Metlox PoppyTrail California.  This pattern was produced in the 1950’s in 3 colorways: Free Form, Mobile, and Contempora.  (Same design, but filled in with different colors.  Contempora used gray, black, turquoise, and fuchsia; Mobile used turquoise, purple, yellow, and fuchsia; Free Form used the combination of brown, chartreuse, turquoise and yellow you can see above.)  All are pretty awesome, but I particularly love the color combination used in the Free Form variation.

My collection actually started with a few pieces in the Mobile colorway that I found for a song at a thrift store.  Lucky find, because this stuff isn’t usually super cheap*.  Here and there, at a positively glacial pace (maybe a piece every 2 or 3 years) I’ve added to my collection, tightening my focus to Free Form version.  I drool and dream about the carafe, the pitcher, and the boomerang bowl from this line.  Very rarely, they turn up on eBay, but always with starting prices ranging from $150-$400.  Ouch.  I hope that someday the yard sale gods will smile upon me!  Until then, I quite enjoy the few pieces I have.

007Here’s a cup and saucer in the Free Form pattern, and an amazing teapot from the late, great Kahiki.  The Kahiki was an old-school, compeletely fabulous , kitschy, themed-out Polynesian restaurant in Columbus, OH.  Sunday brunches there were really something special.  It opened in 1961 and closed in 2000.  RIP, Kahiki.

* A caveat concerning my definition of “expensive”.  I am a frugal collector.  The Mobile pieces with which I started my collection? $2.50 a piece at the thrift store.  So, for me, when the combined price and shipping for a plate or bit of china on eBay or whatever goes over about $15-$20, that gets to be awfully hard to justify.

2 thoughts on “Plates, Plates, Plates

  1. Eleenie says:

    Lovely pieces, I can see why you’re so keen to get the full collection, lots of luck on your frugal search. I’m with you on that one by the way, no matter how much I want something, if it’s over my price limit I can’t merit buying it.

Leave a Reply

