It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas…

I’m terrible at keeping presents secret, or even at waiting for the right time to give them.  Once I get something that I think the recipient will like, I want to give it to them right away!  So waiting to give my husband his Christmas presents is always a challenge.  This year is no exception.  I do have a few things stashed away, but I’ve also already given him a few of his gifts, too.  Luckily he is the same way.  The other day, he gave me part of his present to me because he just couldn’t wait:

006

Confession time:  I collect vintage paperback romance novels.  I love them.  My collection ranges from the 1930’s to the 1990’s.  The cover art is lurid, the titles are sometimes startling, and the plots are generally quite absurd.  They also provide fascinating windows on where notions of feminism and gender roles were in the sort of mass culture consciousness of their times.   And there’s always a happy ending, and sometimes in this mean old world I just want to see love conquer all, you know?

So this year, my husband decided to add to my collection in a BIG way.  I feel like my dining room table is now a women’s studies dissertation waiting to come into being!   There are so many gems.  As a teaser:

012

Just drink in that title and the waggish cover art.  “The Feathered Shaft”.  Wowza.  Here’s hoping Santa is as good to you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas…

  1. Eleenie says:

    What a fabulous gift! Who wants a Kindle when you can own books as colourful and unique as those…

Leave a Reply

