Desktop Greenhouses

Houseplants are a tricky thing for me:  I like the life and the green that they provide but I don’t always enjoy the upkeep.  Especially since a large part of that involves trying to keep our two tenacious cats from pulling the plants over, eating them, getting sick, and also using the pots for potties.

Then I noticed a miniature greenhouse, socker, in the new Ikea catalog and saw its plant-saving potential.  So now this is happening on the desk right by our front door where we stash and sort mail:

We ended up getting a pair.  I rather like them. They currently house some succulents, a wee orchid, some rosemary, some sage, and some thyme.  Fresh herbs during winter!  They don’t actually hold very much, but for now that’s fine since I’m just dipping my toes back into the whole indoor  plants thing.  And no cat problems after two weeks!

Oh, Ikea, you wily bunch of Swedes.  This doesn’t mean I’m letting you off the hook for the whole deleting-women-from-your-catalog-business (for shame!), men dessa är ganska bra.

It also occurs to me that I should scoop up the next interesting bird cage I happen to come across for a similar purpose. Duh.  I’m kicking myself for not having done so in the past.  Because how cute are these?

 

I found this image on designmanifest.blogspot.com

One thought on “Desktop Greenhouses

  1. Eleenie says:

    I’m a nightmare carer when it comes to houseplants, I think I’ve killed all but one over the years! The greenhouse is cool, I saw them in Ikea last week in Sofia and I must admit that I was very tempted… I can see why you like the birdcages so much and that colour is just fabulous!

Leave a Reply

