Admiral Sackbar

I don’t consider myself to be the most crafting-est of people, so it’s been nearly a year since I did a crafty/DIY type post.  But I did have to share this one:

Admiral Sackbar!  (and a Fortune Wookiee)  It’s a hand puppet made out of 2 lunch bags and some other odd bits of paper, a DIY homage to Admiral Ackbar from Star Wars.  I found the recipe in the fantastic book “The Star Wars Craft Book” by Bonnie Burton. And a Fortune Wookiee, based off  the one in the book “The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee” by Tom Angleberger.

I changed up the book’s instructions for the admiral a little bit:  in the book, you’re supposed to use felt to make his white uniform and arms.  I went with all paper and I’m pleased with how it turned out.  Oh, and I used a rubber band to make his little chin tentacles. (Bonus future DIY:  if I can track down some yellow bags, maybe some small yellow gift bags? I think it would be quite simple to use the same general idea to make a sack Homer Simpson hand puppet.)

Leave a Reply

