Carleton College in Northfield, MN

Northfield, MN is home to both St. Olaf and Carleton colleges.  Carleton’s campus was a very short walk from my hotel, the Archer House.  I walked around the campus a few times in the evening after being at my sister’s home for the day.  It was really lovely.  Also really empty because apparently not that many kids hang around during the summer!

I was quite taken with the steampunk stylings of Goodsell Observatory on  Carleton’s campus.

detail of front doors to Goodsell Observatory

view of Lyman Lakes

On one of the islands in the Lyman Lakes there was this wonderful medieval-style meditative labyrinth. It was so peaceful and relaxing to walk the labyrinth with only some nearby geese and wild rabbits for company!

Enter here!
How lovely would it be to add something like this to your yard? (okay, so I don’t have room for this in my yard, but someone must!)

Skinner Memorial Chapel, Carleton College

Carleton College is also home to Cowling Arboretum, an 880 acre arboretum.  It’s set up as more of a wilderness/native plantings/prairie sort of space and has an impressive trail system.  It is vast and lovely, and I only got to dip into it a little bit during this trip.  The mosquitoes were vicious and I didn’t have an repellent.  But back on a trip here in 2010 I had more time to roam around the Arb and it was memorable.  From that trip:

2 thoughts on “Carleton College in Northfield, MN

  1. Eleenie says:

    I’m so with you with regards to the labyrinth, I’d adore one in my garden, they are just the coolest and with so much history attached to them too. Sadly it would mean Iosing some of my vegetable beds. Tough call…. 😉

Leave a Reply

