I Wouldn’t Say No…

My husband and I had this past week off, and decided rather last minute to take a quick trip out to NYC to visit some friends for a few days.  We drove out Wednesday and came back late last night.  It was great —our friends live in the Greenpoint area of Brooklyn and seeing them was wonderful.

The weather was pretty chilly, so while our friends were at work on Thursday and Friday, we visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Natural History Museum.  More to come about both.  But first, here are a few things I wouldn’t say no to,  should any of these items from the Met decide to show up at our house:

Flatware by Carl Otto Czeschka of the Wiener Werkstaette, circa 1900. The proportions on this flatware set were profoundly pleasing to me, I absolutely wanted to eat something just to enjoy how the pieces would feel in my hands. The handles were appealingly substantial, and the proportions of the business ends were slightly petite, like they'd keep you from taking too big of a bite of anything and were nicely shaped. Look at the tines on the fork! And I loved the malachite detail on the ends of the handles. Lovely.

Ceramic art nouveau mantle, attributed Desire Muller circa 1900. We don’t have a fireplace, but this would certainly motivate me to add one!

Charles Rohlfs and Anna Katharine Green, oak desk chair from the Rohlfs Home, circa 1898–99. I think it's a bit too narrow to be practical, but my husband really loved this very stylized chair. Picture is terrible, had a hard time getting crisp shots with the museum setting on my camera.

Reproduction federal era klismos style chair. The original set was in James Madison's White House and was lost in the fire in 1820. Graceful, elegant, comfortable, and referencing the Greeks, it's pretty much everything I could I want in a chair.

Cabinet-Vitrine, by Gustave Serrurier-Bovy, circa 1899. Since I'm dreaming, I could definitely find a spot for this astoundingly gorgeous carved wood cabinet. My picture doesn't even come close to capturing how glowing and alive the wood looked. Breathtaking.

3 thoughts on “I Wouldn’t Say No…

  1. woodbridge says:

    I’m planning a trip to NY and the Met in particular to see Rohlfs desk chair. I’ve built a reproduction (http://lumberjocks.com/projects/64490) but would love to have a close-up look at the original.

    • How exciting, have a great trip! Give yourself plenty of time at the Met, there’s so much to see. I could easily have spent another day or two there, no question. Your version of the Rohlfs chair is really beautiful, you did a wonderful job with the cellular structure carving. How long did that project take you, start to finish?

      • woodbridge says:

        Thanks. In total there is about 50 hours constructing and finishing the chair over a period of about 15 days. This does not include the time to draw up the plans, based on some pictures from the internet and books. I’m looking forward to seeing the actual chair and some of he details that I could not get from the pictures.

Leave a Reply

