The Zhivago Coat: a Proud Moment in Thrifting

My apologies for the terrible quality of these photos, but hopefully you get the idea.  I found this coat about 13 or 14 years ago while thrifting, and I can still remember what a thrill that was!  This is a fun 70’s knockoff of the iconic Yves Saint Laurent Russian Collection from 1976, and I love it.  It is feminine, warm, hooded, and embroidered —-it ticks a lot of boxes for me.

Sketch from the YSL Russian Collection 1976

 

At the time, it cost a whole $15 and I  almost passed it up because it was a bit pricey for a thrift find.  But I just loved it and wanted it even though it was expensive.  Then, horrors!  The card machine was down and only cash was accepted.  I only had a $10 bill on me.  Luckily the friend I was thrifting with kindly spotted me a fiver so I could get this coat.  So glad they did, because I still really love this coat and count finding it as one of my proudest moments in thrifting.  I always feel just a tiny bit like Lara from Doctor Zhivago when I wear it. 🙂

 

Ice Palace from the movie "Doctor Zhivago"

 

2 thoughts on “The Zhivago Coat: a Proud Moment in Thrifting

  1. Beth A says:

    Someday, you need to see my Dr. Zhivago coat, purchased in 1972!

Leave a Reply

