The Wild Ponies of Assateague Island

Just two of the wild ponies on Assateague Island

Remembering this makes me smile!  Last summer, my husband and I went on vacation with some friends of ours.  We took a day trip out to Assateague Island.  The beaches were absolutely gorgeous and not at all crowded, but the best part were the wild ponies.  Having read not only the Misty of Chincoteague trilogy but in fact all of Marguerite Henry’s books as a girl, I have of course wanted to come to Assateague since I was 8.  What a thrill to not only do so, but to find it better and more magical than I had imagined when I did.  My husband was also charmed by the place and the ponies, and we came back the next day, too.

 

The surf was definitely up our second day on Assateague. Hurricane Earl was making its way up the coast, or we would have come back for a third day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

