Sunny

Here at the tail-end of a summer that has quite often felt more like a spring (which has been pretty grand!) we’re being blasted by a late August heat wave. Whew! Out in the garden, I’m enjoying the sunflowers. Many are volunteers from suet we put out for the birds and I like seeing where they randomly decide to happen.

058

A stand of volunteer sunflowers in the midst of a bed.

017

This one popped up to be friends with our compass plant.

Yum! 018

Drying a seeded head that fell off due to its own weight so it can be set out for the birds.

Also adding some sunshine? My husband and I are off for a few days, and I thought it would be fun to borrow one of my mom’s dogs (because clearly 5 of our own isn’t enough—yes, I’m aware that sounds demented!) and it’s working out quite nicely. Having their happy and energetic golden retriever temporarily out of the way is allowing my dad to work on a project at their place, while here at our place, the little dogs are enjoying the chance to romp with their big friend.

014And our charming guest’s name? Sunny. :)

5 thoughts on “Sunny

  1. Eleenie says:

    Awww, he’s adorable! And what a fabulous name :-)

  2. pommepal says:

    I LOVE sunflowers, they are such happy plants

Leave a Reply

